MyAWARD Login |

Who We Are

AWARD is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills, through tailored fellowships. AWARD is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

AWARD has 320 fellows in its program who have been chosen from a large pool of applicants from 11 sub-Saharan African countries (Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia).

AWARD, in partnership with the West and Central African Council for Agricultural Research and Development (CORAF/WECARD) in Dakar, Senegal, and Agropolis Fondation in Montpellier, France, are collaborating to expand AWARD’s successful career-development program to five francophone African countries. A pilot program was launched in February 2013 comprising AWARD Fellows from five countries.

AWARD Fellows represent the following disciplines:

Agricultural economics Food sciences and nutrition
Agricultural engineering Forestry and agroforestry
Agronomy Horticulture
Animal and livestock sciences Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding)
Aquatic resources and fisheries Natural resources management
Biodiversity conservation Plant/animal virology
Crop sciences Soil sciences
Ecology Veterinary sciences
Entomology Water and irrigation management
Extension education